Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

W. Cross Country

NCAA Announces Field for XC National Championship

Nov. 13, 2011

Chestnut Hill, Mass. – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced the field for the 2011 Division I NCAA Championship on Sunday evening.

The 18th-ranked Boston College women’s cross country team qualified automatically after claiming second place in Saturday’s Northeast Regional and will make its 16th appearance at the national meet and its sixth in seven seasons. Since 1997, 10 Eagles have garnered 15 All-American accolades.

Indiana State will host the meet on Monday, Nov. 21, at the LaVern Gibson Championship course in Terre Haute, Ind. A live stream of the entire event will begin at noon on The men’s heat will go off at 12:08 p.m., with the women’s to follow at approximately 12:58 p.m.

The ACC placed four schools in the title run, all by way of automatic qualification. No. 1 Florida State won the South Regional and No. 21 Virginia took home the Southeast crown. No. 20 NC State, runner-up to the Cavaliers, will also represent the league. The PAC-12 leads all conferences with seven bids, followed by the Big East with five and the ACC, Big 12 and BIG Ten with four selections.

Boston College and No. 9 Syracuse gathered the only bids for the Northeast. The West Region led all others with seven, followed by the Great Lakes with five and Mid-Atlantic and Mountain with four.

At the regional, BC’s score was 11 points behind regional champ Syracuse, who won with 116, for its best team outing since 2006. The Eagles lined up grad student Hope Krause, senior Jillian King, juniors Bridget Dahlberg, Moira Kenny, Elizabeth O’Brien and Allison Stasiuk as well as freshman Liv Westphal and will likely bring a similar roster to Terre Haute, Ind.

King is BC’s most experienced student-athlete heading to Indiana, having run in each of the previous two national championships. Krause, O’Brien and Stasiuk were all first-time representatives of the Maroon and Gold at the 2010 meet.

For more information surrounding the 2011 NCAA Championship, please visit

2011 Women's Divsion I NCAA Championship Field
At-Large Selections
Great Lakes Michigan Michigan St. Notre Dame, Toledo, Wisconsin
Mid-Atlantic Georgetown/Villanova West Virginia Penn St., West Virginia
Midwest Iowa State Oklahoma St. Minnesota
Mountain New Mexico/Colorado Weber St. BYU, Weber St.
Northeast Syracuse Boston College
South Florida State Vanderbilt
South Central Arkansas Texas
Southeast Virginia NC State
West Washington Arizona Arizona St., California, Oregon, San Francisco, Stanford

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store