Official Site of the Boston College Eagles


Three Boston College Student-Athletes Selected for ACC Postgraduate Scholarship

Hannah Mulvey

Hannah Mulvey

Feb. 25, 2014

Chestnut Hill, Mass. - Three Boston College student-athletes received the Weaver-James-Corrigan Award, Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced on Tuesday. Seniors Anthony Bellitti of men's cross country/track and field, Hannah Mulvey of field hockey and Tory Speer of softball were three of the 44 ACC student-athletes who were selected for honor.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $5,000 toward his or her graduate education. Those honored have performed with distinction in both the classroom and their respective sport, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

Anthony Bellitti

Bellitti, a Basking Ridge, N.J., native, is a four-year member of the Boston College cross country, indoor and outdoor track teams. The history major served as team captain of the cross country team this past fall. Bellitti is a four-year member of the BC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and currently serves as the committee president. He is a three-time recipient of the Athletic Director's Award for Academic Achievement and has made the ACC Academic Honor Roll three times. In 2012, Bellitti helped lead the cross country team to a second place finish at the New England Championships. He earned All-New England accolades in the 3000m steeple chase in 2011 and 2012, and has had a breakout indoor track season this year with IC4A qualifiers in the mile (4:14.23) and 3000m (8:22.36).

Hannah Mulvey, a Milton, Mass., native was a four-year member of the Boston College field hockey team. She was named to the NFHCA Academic Squad as a junior and sophomore and is up for consideration again as a senior. The economics major is also a three-time recipient of the Athletics Director's Award for Academic Achievement and a two-time ACC Academic Honor Roll honoree. A defensive back for the Eagles, she played in 40 games in her career and recorded her first points as a senior, notching three assists in 2013. As a senior, Mulvey is a vice president of the student-athletes advisory committee (SAAC) and has made multiple trips with other BC student-athletes to New Orleans during the winter break to help rebuild homes destroyed by Hurricane Katrina.

Tory Speer

A senior captain of the Boston College Softball team, Speer, who hails from Trabuco Canyon, Calif., led the Eagles last season in batting average (.331), doubles (11), home runs (15), RBI (38) and walks (41). Her 15 home runs set a BC single-season record. The communication major currently ranks second all-time at BC in career on base percentage (.414), doubles (33) and walks (78)and is third in slugging percentage (.574). As a freshman, she was named ACC Freshman of the Year and earned ECAC All-Star status. Last season Speer was named second team All-ACC. Speer is a three-time member of the All-ACC Academic Team and has earned ACC Academic Honor Roll accolades and the Athletic Director's Award for Academic Achievement three times.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan Award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James, as well as Gene Corrigan, the first three ACC commissioners. The league's first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954-70 after a stint as the Director of Athletics at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.

Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served in that capacity for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletics and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner on September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan's tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.

Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James postgraduate scholarships were given as separate honors. The Jim Weaver Award, which originated in 1970, recognized exceptional achievement on the playing field and in the classroom, while the Bob James Award, established in 1987, also honored outstanding student-athletes.

The student-athletes will be honored at the annual ACC Postgraduate Luncheon presented by ESPN on April 16, 2014, in the Guilford Ballroom at the Sheraton Greensboro at the Four Seasons.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store