Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Women's Soccer

DiMartino, Mewis Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 16, 2011

Chestnut Hill, Mass. –Boston College junior forward Victoria DiMartino and junior midfielder Kristen Mewis have been named to the 2011 Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy Watch List. The two Eagles are part of the Atlantic Coast Conference’s nation-leading nine mentions in the field of 42 student-athletes from around the country.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual honor in collegiate soccer. Recipients are chosen by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Mewis, a semifinalist for the Hermann Trophy in 2010, posted a team-best 14 assists and was second on squad with 34 points last year. The Hanson, Mass. native was tabbed as the New England Soccer News Player of the Year, First-Team NSCAA, First-Team Soccer MVP’s, Top Drawer Soccer’s Second-Team and All-ACC accolades en route to leading Boston College to its first appearance in the NCAA College Cup.

DiMartino, the 2009 ACC Freshman of the Year, led BC with 36 points (14 goals, 8 assists) last season. The product out of Massapequa Park, N.Y. was recognized with several honors including First-Team All-ACC, Second-Team Soccer America MVP’s, First-Team New England Women’s Intercollegiate Soccer Association, Fourth-Team NSCAA All-American and as an ECAC All-Star.

Fellow ACC members featured on the Watch List are Florida State forward Tiffany McCarty (the 2009 ACC Offensive Player of the Year) and defender Toni Pressley; Maryland forward Jasmyne Spencer; North Carolina defender Crystal Dunn (the 2010 ACC Defensive Player of the Year) and forward Kealia Ohai; Virginia goalkeeper Chantel Jones, and Wake Forest forward Katie Stengel (the 2010 ACC Freshman of the Year).

Thirty-four institutions are represented on the list, with four other conferences – the Big 10, the BIG EAST, the PAC-12 and SEC - seeing at least five players named. Ten of the 42 individuals are semifinalist from a year before, with Notre Dame’s Melissa Henderson is long returnee from the 2010 Hermann Trophy finalists.

Voting for the MAC Hermann Trophy is conducted in late November, when a field of 15 semifinalists is reduced to three finalists. Those three will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 6, 2012, where a news conference will be held to announce the winner, followed by a banquet to honor the three finalists.

Past MAC Hermann Trophy winners include American soccer icons Kristine Lilly and Mia Hamm. Please visit the Missouri Athletic Club web page for more information about the Hermann Trophy and the complete WatchList Get Acrobat Reader.

Boston College gets the 2011 campaign under way with a home match on Friday, August 19 at 4 p.m. against Boston University. Fans unable to attend are invited to follow along with live updates and stats through GameTracker and Twitter.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store