Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Women's Rowing

Rowing Announces 2011-2012 Crew of the Year

The Boston College Women's Second Varsity Eight was named the 2011-12 Crew of the Year, as announced and selected by the rowing coaches.

The Second Varsity Eight raced well in a number of spring races. While the 2V8 had a number of wins in Spring 2012, this crew was especially strong at the Knecht Cup and the ACC Championship. At the Knecht Cup the 2V8 earned a bronze medal after winning their heat and finishing second in their semi-final. The 2V8 was the highest finishing crew for BC at the ACC Championship where they finished 3rd.

The winning crew was: coxswain, Lauren Beebe, stroke Victoria Goetz, 7-Seat Regina Hayburn, 6-Seat Margaret Hanlon, 5-Seat Kaitlin Campbell, 4-Seat Megan Clarke, 3-Seat Katie Casebeer, 2-Seat Ellen Keenan, and bow Rachel Hess.

The Crew of the Year plaque is shared with the club men's rowing team. The men's Crew of the Year award recipient was the Men's Varsity Eight, who had their first appearance and grand final at the San Diego Crew Classic as well as their first appearance and grand final at the ACRA Championship Regatta. The crew won the first URI Hammer and McCarthy Trophy and was the first varsity crew with each athlete reaching the varsity 2k ergometer standard.

The men's crew consisted of coxswain, Rachel Craft, stroke, Sean Fanning, Ross Tremblay, Tom Fee, Keane Johnson, Chris Samul, Fred Gonfiantini, and Bob Scarminach, as well as bow, John Corbett.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store