Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Women's Rowing

Rowers Honored at Spring Banquets

Senior Erin Roche was named Rower of the Year.

Senior Erin Roche was named Rower of the Year.

May 10, 2012

Chestnut Hill, Mass. -The Boston College rowing team and individual student-athletes were honored at the BC Rowing Spring Awards Dinner on April 27 and the BC All-Sports Banquet on May 5.

Three awards were given at the BC Rowing Spring Awards Dinner. Senior Erin Roche was named Rower of the Year, which is awarded to the best overall contributor in terms of athletic ability, boat moving skills, attitude, leadership and teamwork. Freshmen Ellen Burr was named Novice of the Year, given to the best overall first-year contributor. Freshmen Rachel Hess was given the Ignatian Award for her outstanding leadership off-the-water, enthusiasm, spirit and involvement in service.

At the BC All-Sports Banquet, the entire team was presented with the Devlin S-AFE Ignatius Cup, presented to the teams whose spirit and actions best exemplify the Jesuit principle of men and women for others and overall excellence. The teams that earn this award have excelled in utilizing the combined talents, abilities and generous spirits of their members for the service of others; they have personified excellence academically, athletically and in support of others.

Senior Emily Charnowski was called to the stage twice, winning the ACC Female Scholar-Athlete award, as well as the Richard "Moe" Maloney Award for Community Service, presented annually to the male and female student-athletes who have best used their talents and abilities in unselfish service to others. In addition to these two awards, Charnowski also received the Outstanding Senior award.

Junior Sarah Loiselle received the Leadership Award, given to an outstanding leader, athlete, student and citizen on each team who best exemplifies the pursuit of excellence as a role model for other students.

The rowing team was proud to have 32 members of its team earn the Athletic Director's Award for Academic Achievement, awarded to student-athletes with a cumulative GPA above 3.0. The award was presented to Lauren Beebe, Ellen Burr, Karen Campbell, Alexis Carriere, Katie Casebeer, Emily Charnowski, Melissa Chavez, Megan Conway, Nicole Frederick, Jennifer Frese, Victoria Goetz, Rachel Hess, Aran Hubbell, Erica Jennings, Ellen Keenan, Caroline Kirkwood, Sarah Loiselle, Jillian Marshall, Kelly McElduff, Alicia McKean, Emma Metzger, Caroline Mitton, Abigail Oliveira, Grace Olscamp, Katelyn Olsson, Rachel Pettis, Erin Roche, Karen Shu, Maclaine Sisco, Rebekah Straneva, and Kaitlyn Votta.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store