Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Women's Rowing

Rowing Concludes Racing Against Northeastern, MIT

April 28, 2014

BOSTON, Mass.- The Boston College rowing team won four events against Northeastern and MIT this weekend on the Charles River in Boston, Mass. 

The BC Varsity Four led the race for the first 500 meters and continued to expand their lead for the remainder of the race.  BC finished with a time of 7:24.4, ahead of Northeastern 7:39.5 and MIT 8:11.0.  The BC Second Varsity Four, led by graduating Senior Megan Conway, gained a small lead in the first 500m, and pulled ahead slightly through the middle 1000m.  They were continually challenged by the Northeastern crew, but held their lead throughout to finish with a time of 7:42.7 ahead of Northeastern 7:47.6.

BC Rowed against MIT in the 3rd Varsity Eight event.  The BC Third Varsity Eight, rowing as the "A" entry, and the BC Freshmen Eight, rowing as the "B" entry both pulled ahead of MIT in the first half of the race and battled with each other for the win.  The Third Varsity Eight including graduating Senior Karen Shu, won the race with a time of 7:13.0, ahead of the BC Freshmen Eight 7:21.0 and MIT 7:29.0.

BC finished first in the Second Varsity Eight event with a time of 6:48.1, ahead of Northeastern 6:55.0 and MIT 7:16.8.  Northeastern led the first part of the race prior to catching a crab.  The Eagles were able to move through Northeastern as they recovered and held onto the lead for the win. 

BC finished second to Northeastern in the Varsity Eight Event.  The Eagles trailed Northeastern closely in the first half of the race and led MIT.  During the second half of the race Northeastern increased their lead ahead of BC and BC also expanded their margin ahead of MIT

BC will race both of these teams again on Sunday, May 4, at the Eastern Sprints on the Cooper River in Camden, N.J.


Varsity Eight 

Coxswain: Kelly McElduff, stroke: Jane Aulenback, 7: Makenzy Brown, 6: Ellen Burr, 5: Erin Anderson, 4: Grace Grunau, 3: Chelsea Robin, 2: Alicia McKean, bow: Alycia Da'Loia-Moore

Second Varsity Eight 

Coxswain: Kate Votta, stroke: Maggie Hanlon, 7: Emma Metzger, 6: Maclaine Sisco, 5: Kylie O'Connor, 4: Megan Carney, 3: Shannon Healey, 2: Michaela Jaffe, bow: Rachel Hess

Varsity Four

Coxswain: Anna Tenzinger, stroke: Gabby Dell'Aquilo, 3: Caitlin Yaccarino, 2: Caroline Henry, bow: Catherine Goldberg 

Second Varsity Four 

Coxswain: Kylie Hasegawa, stroke: Megan Conway, 3: Morgan Rann, 2: Clare McIntee, bow: Amanda Jenkins

Third Varsity Eight 

Coxswain: Meg Bailey, stroke: Kaitlin Campbell, 7: Jennifer Frese, 6: Emily Quaglia, 5: Katie Casebeer , 4: Haley Clarke, 3: Mary Kate Cahill, 2: Christina Fallon, bow: Karen Shu 

Freshmen/Novice Eight (B entry in the Third Varsity Eight)

Coxswain: Kate O'Kelly-Lynch, stroke: Morgan Daugherty, 7: Fiona Kelly, 6: Marisa Marshalka, 5: Ellie Hill, 4: Caitlin Power, 3: Claire Mason, 2: Anna Peaslee, bow: Jen Steyaert


Shop Now! at the Official Online Store