Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Women's Rowing

Rowing Wins Team Title at the Jesuit Invitational

The Cannonball Trophy

The Cannonball Trophy

March 19, 2012


Boston College Women’s rowing won the Team Championship title at the Jesuit Invitational on Saturday, March 17 to open the 2012 spring season. In addition, the BC women and the BC men combined for the most overall points, bringing the Cannonball Trophy to Boston for the first time ever.

“It was great to see the individual boats execute their race plans, but more importantly, we were proud to earn the both the women’s team title and the overall points trophy in combination with the BC men’s team,” head coach Steve Fiske said.

BC won four out of five events to earn the women’s team title. The Eagles won the Varsity Eight for the first time since 2006, posting a time of 7:26 to finish ahead of St. Joseph’s University and Fairfield. The other winning Eagles’ crews were the Second Varsity Eight, the Freshmen Eight and the Freshmen Four. The BC Varsity Four boat turned in a strong performance to place third in its event, while the Third Varsity Eight, which competed as a second entry in the Freshmen Eight event, also finish third.

“The results show not only how hard the team worked today, but throughout the entire winter,” assistant coach Anthony Brock said.”

Boston College returns to action on March 24 when the squad competes for the Beanpot on its home course, the Charles River.

BC Boat Lineups
Varsity Eight: coxswain Lauren Beebe; stroke Emily Charnowski, 7-seat Erin Roche; 6-seat Nicole Frederick; 5-seat Emma Metzger; 4-seat Katie Casebeer; 3-seat Ellen Burr; 2-seat Erica Jennings; bow Megan Clarke

Second Varsity Eight: coxswain Kelly McElduff; stroke Victoria Goetz; 7-seat Regina Hayburn; 6-seat Jenn Johnson; 5-seat Kaitlin Campbell; 4-seat Ellen Keenan; 3-seat Rachel Hess; 2-seat Maggie Hanlon; bow Sarah Loiselle

Freshmen Eight: coxswain Kate Votta; stroke Chelsea Robin; 7-seat Alyssa Rizzini; 6-seat Grace Olscamp; 5-seat Maclaine Sisco; 4-seat Shannon Healey; 3-seat Nicaela Chinnaswamy; 2-seat Jillian Marshall; bow Wylie Wilson

Third Varsity Eight (competing in the Freshmen Eight): coxswain Shea Mathews; stroke Karen Campbell; 7-seat Megan Conway; 6-seat Rachel Pettis; 5-seat Lex Carriere; 4-seat Abby Oliveira; 3-seat Jill Bungard; 2-seat Emily Lewis; bow Caroline Mitton

Varsity Four: coxswain Aran Hubbell; stroke Victoria Greco; 3-seat Stephanie Ragland; 2-seat Caroline Kirkwood; bow Karen Shu

Freshmen Four: coxswain Kelly McElduff; stroke Jenny Frese; 3-seat Christina Murray; 2-seat Caroline Suttlehan; bow Meg Bailey

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store