Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Women's Rowing

Rowing Earns Fifth and Sixth Place Finishes at the Head of the Charles

Oct. 20, 2012

Photo Gallery

Full Head of the Charles Results
Live Head of the Charles Results
Women's Club Eight Results
Women's Club Four Results
Women's Alumnae Eight Results

The Boston College women's rowing team finished fifth in the Club 8+ event and sixth in the Club 4+ race while a boat of BC alumnae came in 23rd in the alumnae eight race at the 48th Head of the Charles Regatta on the Charles River in Boston, Mass. on Saturday afternoon.

BC took fifth place out of 34 entries in the Club 8+ event with a time of 17:32.903. The maroon and gold finished 43.26 seconds behind race winners, Yale, who won the event with a time of 16:49.643. BC's finish marked an improvement over last year's 16th place finish in the same event.

The Eagles finished sixth out of 46 entries in the Club 4+ event with a time of 19:32.664. BC finished 15.96 seconds behind the winners of the event, TBC Racing, who won the race with a time of 19:16.70. In 2011, the Eagles earned a bronze medal in the event.

The BC alumnae boat finished 23rd out of 34 entries with a time of 19:38.118 in the Women's Alumnae Eight event. The University of Michigan alumnae boat won the event in a time of 16:24.133. The race marked the first time that an alumnae boat from Boston College competed in the event.

Boston College continues racing at the Head of the Charles tomorrow with the Championship 8+ in event #49 at 3:08 p.m. (bow #27).

Boston College Boats:

Club 8+
Coxswain: Kaitlyn Votta; Stroke: Margaret Hanlon; 7: Wylie Wilson; 6: Megan Clarke; 5: Erica Jennings; 4: Ellen Keenan; 3: Regina Hayburn; 2: Victoria Greco; Bow: Alexis Carriere.

Club 4+
Coxswain: Kelly McElduff; Stroke: Stephanie Ragland; 3: Victoria Goetz; 2: Chelsea Robin; Bow: Alyssa Rizzini.

Alumnae Eight
Coxswain: Brigid Morrissey (2011); Stroke: Elizabeth Keyser (2009); 7: Elizabeth Lobkowicz (2010); 6: Laura Harvey (2009); 5: Patricia Milla (2009); 4: Brianne Moskovitz (2004); 3: Emily Charnowski (2012); 2: Sarah Lynch (2000); Bow: Heather Schofield (2009).

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store