Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Women's Rowing

Rowing Finishes Eighth at EAWRC Women's Sprints

May 15, 2012

Finals Results
Team Points Results
Heats Results

CAMDEN, N.J. - Boston College rowing closed its season at the Eastern Women's Sprints on Sunday, May 13 on the Cooper River in Camden, N.J. As a team, the Eagles raced six boats in five events to take eighth place overall.

“Congrats to the entire squad on the progress we made this year," head coach Steve Fiske said about the 2012 season. "We were proud to have a crew win or finish in medal position in every single race we competed in. We had a lot of youth on this team so we are looking forward to continuing the progress we made this year in 2012-2013 and beyond.”

The Second Varsity Four turned in BC's best finish of the day, winning the bronze medal in the Grand Final, behind Virginia and Northeastern.

"The Second Four has raced well all year and their success highlights the depth of our team," assistant coach Amy Weatherby said."

BC's Varsity Eight finished third in the Petite Final after using a late sprint to move ahead of Buffalo. The Second Varsity Eight registered a strong performance in their heat to advance to the Grand Final. This boat then took sixth place in the Final, earning 21 points, which was highest points per boat earned for BC.

The Third Varsity Eight finished fifth in the Grand Final ahead of Rhode Island. The Varsity Four finished fourth in the Petite Final.

The Fourth Varsity Eight competed in the Third Varsity Eight event and finished third in the Petite Final.

BC Boat Lineups

Varsity Eight: coxswain Kelly McElduff; stroke Erin Roche; 7-seat Nicole Frederick; 6-seat Jennifer Johnson; 5-seat Emily Charnowski; 4-seat Ellen Burr; 3-seat Katie Casebeer; 2-seat Emma Metzger; bow Sarah Loiselle

Second Varsity Eight: coxswain Lauren Beebe; stroke Victoria Goetz; 7-seat Regina Hayburn; 6-seat Maggie Hanlon; 5-seat Kaitlin Campbell; 4-seat Megan Clarke; 3-seat Erica Jennings; 2-seat Ellen Keenan; bow Rachel Hess

Third Varsity Eight: coxswain Kate Votta; stroke Chelsea Robin; 7-seat Wylie Wilson; 6-seat Grace Olscamp; 5-seat Maclaine Sisco; 4-seat Shannon Healey; 3-seat Caroline Kirkwood; 2-seat Jenny Frese; bow Christina Murray

Fourth Varsity Eight: coxswain Shea Mathews; stroke Abigail Oliveira; 7-seat Jillian Marshall; 6-seat Nicaela Chinnaswamy; 5-seat Jillian Bungard; 4-seat Alyssa Rizzini; 3-seat Caroline Mitton; 2-seat Katelyn Olsson; bow Caroline Suttlehan

Varsity Four: coxswain Aran Hubbell; stroke Stephanie Ragland; 3-seat Melissa Chavez; 2-seat Rachel Pettis; bow Alexis Carriere

Second Varsity Four: coxswain Shea Mathews; stroke Megan Conway; 3-seat Karen Campbell; 2-seat Karen Shu; bow Alicia McKean

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store