Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Women's Rowing

Rowing Finishes Fifth at ACC Championship

Sophomore Ellen Burr earned All-ACC honors for the second time. (Photo by Sara D. Davis,

Sophomore Ellen Burr earned All-ACC honors for the second time. (Photo by Sara D. Davis,

May 12, 2013

Championship Central | ACC Recap/Full Results

Sophomore Ellen Burr earned a spot on the All-ACC Team, and Boston College finished fifth at the 2013 ACC Women's Rowing Championship at Lake Hartwell in Clemson, S.C., on Sunday morning.

The Eagles picked up 23 points as a team to capture their fifth-place finish. Virginia won the event with 60 points ahead of Clemson (43 points), Duke (41), Miami (27), BC, and North Carolina (16).

Burr, a native of Cazenovia, N.Y., sat stroke in the First Varsity Eight throughout the spring and gained All-ACC status for the second time in as many years.

BC's Varsity Four and Novice Eight each captured fourth-place finishes in their events with times of 7:51.59 and 7:35.13 respectively. The Second Varsity Eight and First Varsity Eight each came in fifth with times of 7:32.11 and 7:14.18.

Boats from Virginia won all four events as the Cavaliers took home the championship title for the 13th time in the 14-year history of the event.

Boston College Schedule/Results
9:00 a.m. - Varsity Four (Seed 4/Lane 5) - Fourth (7:51.59)
9:20 a.m. - Novice Eight (Seed 3/Lane 2) - Fourth (7:35.13)
9:40 a.m. - Second Varsity Eight (Seed 5/Lane 1) - Fifth (7:32.11)
10:00 a.m. - First Varsity Eight (Seed 5/Lane 1) - Fifth (7:14.18)

Boston College Boat Lineups

Varsity Eight:
Coxswain: Kaitlyn Votta, stroke: Ellen Burr, 7: Nicole Frederick, 6: Margaret Hanlon, 5: Wylie Wilson, 4: Jennifer Johnson, 3: Katie Casebeer, 2: Emma Metzger, bow: Sarah Loiselle.

Second Varsity Eight:
Coxswain: Kelly McElduff, stroke: Alyssa Rizzini, 7: Chelsea Robin, 6: Megan Carney, 5: Stephanie Ragland, 4: Alicia McKean, 3: Erica Jennings, 2: Victoria Greco, bow: Rachel Hess.

Varsity Four:
Coxswain: Lauren Beebe, stroke: Kaitlin Campbell, 3: Jane Aulenback, 2: Jennifer Frese bow: Michaela Jaffe.

Novice Eight:
Coxswain: Kylie Hasegawa, stroke: Caroline Henry, 7: Emily Quaglia, 6: Alexis Hawkins, 5: Chelsey Frost, 4: Catherine Goldberg, 3: Alexandra Root, 2: Megan Cronquist, bow: Haley Clarke.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store