Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Women's Rowing

BC Wins Two Events Against MIT

May 6, 2012

Full Results

BOSTON, Mass. - Boston College rowing earned two victories against MIT on Saturday, May 5 in the Eagles last race on the Charles River for the 2012 season.

The BC Second Varsity Eight and Third Varsity Eight "A" both defeated MIT. Despite starting the race behind, the Second Varsity Eight made a late comeback to move ahead and win by a boat length.

The Third Varsity Eight "A" raced against MIT, in addition to BC's "B" boat. The "A" crew, coxed by Kate Votta, took the lead early and extended their advantage throughout the course of the race for the victory.

The Varsity Four event was the closest of the day. MIT took an early lead over both BC crews. The BC "A" Four, coxed by Aran Hubbell, made several strong moves in the second half of the race to close the gap, but ended up finishing just one second behind MIT.

The Varsity Eight finished second behind MIT. They attempted comeback, but they were not able to overcome the deficit.

BC will race MIT again next week at the Eastern Sprints in Camden, N.J.

BC Boat Lineups
First Varsity Eight: coxswain Kelly McElduff; stroke Jennifer Johnson; 7-seat Nicole Frederick; 6-seat Erin Roche; 5-seat Emily Charnowski; 4-seat Ellen Burr; 3-seat Katie Casebeer; 2-seat Emma Metzger; bow Sarah Loiselle

Second Varsity Eight: coxswain Lauren Beebe; stroke Maggie Hanlon; 7-seat Regina Hayburn; 6-seat Melissa Chavez; 5-seat Kaitlin Campbell; 4-seat Caroline Kirkwood; 3-seat Erica Jennings; 2-seat Ellen Keenan; bow Rachel Hess

Third Varsity Eight A: coxswain Kate Votta; stroke Chelsea Robin; 7-seat Alyssa Rizzini; 6-seat Grace Olscamp; 5-seat Maclaine Sisco; 4-seat Shannon Healey; 3-seat Nicaela Chinnaswamy; 2-seat Jenny Frese; bow Abby Oliveira

Third Varsity Eight B: coxswain Aran Hubbell; stroke Katelyn Olsson; 7-seat Jillian Marshall; 6-seat Christina Murray; 5-seat Caroline Suttlehan; 4-seat Caroline Mitton; 3-seat Jillian Bungard; 2-seat Emily Lewis; bow Meg Bailey

Varsity Four A: coxswain Aran Hubbell; stroke Stephanie Ragland; 3-seat Wylie Wilson; 2-seat Rachel Pettis; bow Alexis Carriere

Varsity Four B: coxswain Shea Mathews; stroke Megan Conway; 3-seat Karen Campbell; 2-seat Karen Shu; bow Alicia McKean

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store