Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Women's Rowing

Rowing Finishes Seventh at EAWRC Sprints

May 5, 2013

Team Results | Heat Results | Finals Results

Boston College recorded 60 points to finish seventh out of 12 schools with the Novice Eight and Third Varsity Eight each earning second-place finishes at the EAWRC Sprints on the Cooper River in Camden, N.J., on Sunday.

Brown won the Willing Point Trophy, posting an event-high 116 points as a team.

BC's Novice Eight clocked in at 8:05.812 to take second in its six-boat event, and the Third Varsity Eight finished second with a time of 8:16.052 in the three-boat event.

The Eagles advanced three crews - the Second Varsity Eight, Varsity Four A, and the Varsity Four B - to the Grand Finals of their respective events while the Varsity Eight matriculated to the Petite Finals. The Varsity Eight, Second Varsity Eight, and Varsity Four A events each comprised two six-boat heats, and seven crews started in the Varsity Four B event.

The Varsity Four A came in fifth in the grand finals with a time of 8:40.004. Both the Second Varsity Four and Varsity Four B finished sixth in the grand finals of their races.

Next, Boston College will compete at the ACC Championships on Lake Hartwell in Clemson, S.C., on May 12.

Boston College Race Results:
Overall Team Finish: Seventh (60 Points)
Varsity Eight - Heat: Fifth (7:21.246) | Petite Final: Third (7:37.878)
Second Varsity Eight - Heat: Second (7:34.325) | Grand Final: Sixth (8:07.357)
Varsity Four A - Heat: Third (8:48.330) | Grand Final: Fifth (8:40.004)
Varsity Four B - Heat: Second (8:52.172) | Grand Final: Sixth (8:56.670)
Third Varsity Eight - Grand Final: Second (8:16.052)
Varsity Four C - Grand Final: Fourth (9:26.634)
Novice Eight - Grand Final: Second (8:05.812)

Boston College Boat Lineups:

Varsity Eight:
Coxswain: Kaitlyn Votta, stroke: Ellen Burr, 7: Nicole Frederick, 6: Margaret Hanlon, 5: Wylie Wilson, 4: Jennifer Johnson, 3:Katie Casebeer, 2: Emma Metzger, bow: Sarah Loiselle.

Second Varsity Eight:
Coxswain: Kelly McElduff, stroke: Alyssa Rizzini, 7: Chelsea Robin, 6: Megan Carney, 5: Stephanie Ragland, 4: Alicia McKean, 3: Erica Jennings, 2: Victoria Greco, bow: Rachel Hess.

Varsity Four:
Coxswain: Lauren Beebe, stroke: Katie Ewell, 3: Jane Aulenback, 2: Jennifer Frese bow: Michaela Jaffe.

Varsity Four B :
Coxswain: Justine Yunakov, stroke: Chelsey Frost, 3: Caroline Kirkwood, 2: Kaitlin Campbell, bow: Karen Shu.

Third Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Shealyn Mathews, stroke: Megan Conway, 7: Victoria Goetz, 6: Catherine Goldberg, 5: Maclaine Sisco, 4: Jillian Bungard, 3: Melissa Chavez, 2: Alexis Carriere, bow: Ellen Keenan.

Novice Eight:
Coxswain: Kylie Hasegawa, stroke: Caroline Henry, 7: Emily Quaglia, 6: Alexis Hawkins, 5: Alexandra Root, 4: Anne LaGatta, 3: Meghan Dens, 2: Megan Cronquist, bow: Haley Clarke.

Varsity Four C
Coxswain: Kayla Oak, stroke: Caroline Mitton, 3: Olivia Guyon, 2: Abby Oliveira, bow: Katelyn Olsson.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store