Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Women's Rowing

Rowing Sweeps UConn and Holy Cross

April 21, 2014

Results Link

CHESTNUT HILL, Mass.- The Boston College rowing team swept UConn and Holy Cross and the Varsity Eight won the Irving-Christensen Cup this weekend on Lake Quinsigamond in Worcester, Mass. 

This was the third team sweep for the Eagles this spring.  The Varsity Eight won with a time of 6:47.5 ahead of UConn who finished in 6:54.4 and Holy Cross 7:03.3.  The Second Varsity Eight finished almost 10 seconds ahead of UConn with a time of 6:44.0. The Huskies finished with a time of 7:04.7 and Crusaders finished in 7:34.2. 

BC showed depth in the Varsity Four, Novice Four, and the Novice Eight, racing two boats in each of these three events.  In each case the BC boats finished first and second ahead of their competitors.  The Eagles B entry won the Varsity Four event, both BC crews finishing ahead of UConn’s B and A boats.  The Eagles dominated the Frosh/Novice 4 as well, finishing both first and second ahead of UConn and Holy Cross.  Both BC eights in the Frosh/Novice 8 event showed speed, the Third Varsity Eight was the first to cross the line, followed by the BC Freshmen Eight, Holy Cross, then UConn.

Varsity Eight 

Coxswain: Kelly McElduff, stroke: Jane Aulenback, 7: Makenzy Brown, 6: Ellen Burr, 5: Erin Anderson, 4: Grace Grunau, 3: Chelsea Robin, 2: Alicia McKean, bow: Alycia Da'Loia-Moore

Second Varsity Eight 

Coxswain: Kate Votta, stroke: Maggie Hanlon, 7: Emma Metzger, 6: Maclaine Sisco, 5: Kylie O'Connor, 4: Megan Carney, 3: Shannon Healey, 2: Michaela Jaffe, bow: Rachel Hess

Varsity Four

Coxswain: Anna Tenzinger, stroke: Caroline Henry, 3: Catherine Goldberg, 2: Gabby Dell'Aquilo, bow: Clare McIntee

Second Varsity Four 

Coxswain: Kylie Hasegawa, stroke: Megan Conway, 3: Morgan Rann, 2: Caitlin Yaccarino, bow: Amanda Jenkins

Third Varsity Eight (B entry in the Novice 8)

Coxswain: Meg Bailey, stroke: Katie Casebeer, 7: Emily Quaglia, 6: Jennifer Frese, 5: Kaitlin Campbell , 4: Mary Kate Cahill, 3: Haley Clarke, 2: Karen Shu, bow: Fiona Kelly

Freshmen/Novice Eight (A entry in the Novice 8)

Coxswain: Kate O'Kelly-Lynch, stroke: Morgan Daugherty, 7: Christina Fallon, 6: Marisa Marshalka, 5: Claire Mason, 4: Ellie Hill, 3: Jillian Valpey, 2: Caitlin Power, bow: Jen Steyaert

Novice Four A

Coxswain: Erika Charnley, stroke: Jillian Bungard, 3: Caitlin Power, 2: Alexis Carriere, bow: Claire Mason

Novice Four B

Coxswain: Kelly Laughinghouse, stroke: Mary Kate Cahill, 3: Christina Fallon, 2: Marisa Marshalka, bow: Ellie Hill

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store