Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Women's Rowing

Rowing Wins Irving-Christensen Cup

April 7, 2012

Full Results

WORCESTER, Mass. - Boston College rowing took five out of six events on Saturday afternoon against Holy Cross and UMass in Worcester, Mass. The Eagles were awarded the Irving-Christensen Cup for finishing first in the Varsity Eight event.

"We were proud of the team effort today," head coach Steve Fiskesaid. "It was great to see the squad win five events and bring another trophy back to Boston."

The Varsity Eight crew was led by senior captains Erin Roche and Emily Charnowski. This was BC first time taking home the Irving-Christensen Cup since it was started in 2011. .

The Second Varsity came away with a victory after facing stiff competition in the first 1,000 meters of the course. The Second Varsity four, led by senior Rachel Pettis, won for the second week in a row, leading the whole way down the course.

The Third Varsity Eight and Novice Eight were both coxed by freshmen Kate Votta, who led both crews to decisive wins. The Varsity Four came in second place behind a strong UMass crew and ahead of Holy Cross.

BC Boat Lineups
Varsity Eight: coxswain Kelly McElduff; stroke Erin Roche; 7-seat Nicole Frederick; 6-seat Jennifer Johnson; 5-seat Emily Charnowski; 4-seat Ellen Burr; 3-seat Erica Jennings; 2-seat Emma Metzger; bow Sarah Loiselle

Second Varsity Eight: coxswain Lauren Beebe; stroke Victoria Goetz; 7-seat Regina Hayburn; 6-seat Maggie Hanlon; 5-seat Kaitlin Campbell; 4-seat Megan Clarke; 3-seat Katie Casebeer; 2-seat Ellen Keenan; bow Rachel Hess

Varsity Four: coxswain Aran Hubbell; stroke Megan Conway; 3-seat Maclaine Sisco; 2-seat Shannon Healey; bow Caroline Kirkwood

Novice Eight: coxswain Kate Votta; stroke Chelsea Robin; 7-seat Alyssa Rizzini; 6-seat Grace Olscamp; 5-seat Nicaela Chinnaswamy; 4-seat Jenny Frese; 3-seat Christina Murray; 2-seat Jillian Marshall; bow Wylie Wilson

Second Varsity Four: coxswain Shea Mathews; stroke Karen Shu; 3-seat Rachel Pettis; 2-seat Alexis Carriere; bow Karen Campbell

Third Varsity Eight: coxswain Kate Votta; stroke Abigail Oliveira; 7-seat Jillian Bungard; 6-seat Katelyn Olsson; 5-seat Caroline Suttlehan; 4-seat Emily Lewis; 3-seat Caroline Mitton; 2-seat Alicia McKean; bow Meg Bailey

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store