Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Women's Rowing

Rowing Wins Two Trophies at Jesuit Invitational

March 16, 2013

Full Results

Boston College won the Cannonball Trophy for overall points and the Robert M. Gillin, Jr. Trophy for its victory in the varsity eight to highlight a successful day of racing at the Jesuit Invitational on the Cooper River in Camden, N.J., on Saturday.

In the team's first race of the spring, the Eagles earned both trophies for the second year in a row at the 14th annual regatta against crews from host Saint Joseph's, Loyola (Md.), Fairfield, and Canisius.

BC's varsity eight took first place in a time of 7:27.9 to win the women's varsity eight and the Robert M. Gillin, Jr. Trophy in the team's last race of the day. Saint Joseph's finished second in the event with a time of 7:31.6.

The Eagles also won the second varsity eight in a time of 7:45.5 more than 30 seconds ahead of St. Joseph's while BC's B boat came in first in the varsity four, and the team's A entry finished second in the event with times of 8:43.2 and 8:46.2 respectively.

In the third varsity eight the Eagles took first and third with BC's A boat coming in at 7:57.3 and the team's B boat finishing in 8:19.7. St. Joseph's clocked in at 8:15.7 to finish second.

Next, Boston College competes at The Beanpot on the Charles River in Boston, Mass., on March 23.

Boston College Race Schedule/Results:

11:20 a.m. - Women's Third Varsity Eight - First Place (A) & Third Place (B)
12:00 p.m. - Women's Varsity Four - First Place (B) & Second Place (A)
12:40 p.m. - Women's Second Varsity Eight - First Place
1:00 p.m. - Women's Varsity Eight - Robert M. Gillin, Jr. Trophy - First Place

Boston College Boats:

Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Kelly McElduff, stroke: Ellen Burr, 7: Nicole Frederick, 6: Emma Metzger, 5: Katie Casebeer, 4: Jennifer Johnson, 3: Sarah Loiselle, 2: Margaret Hanlon, bow: Rachel Hess.

Second Varsity Eight:
Coxswain: Kaitlyn Votta, stroke: Alyssa Rizzini, 7: Wylie Wilson, 6: Megan Carney, 5: Stephanie Ragland, 4: Alicia McKean, 3: Erica Jennings, 2: Victoria Greco, bow: Chelsea Robin.

Varsity Four A:
Coxswain: Lauren Beebe, stroke: Jennifer Frese, 3: Kaitlin Campbell, 2: Katie Ewell, bow: Ellen Keenan.

Varsity Four B:
Coxswain: Justine Yunakov, stroke: Chelsey Frost, 3: Caroline Kirkwood, 2: Karen Shu, bow: Michaela Jaffe.

Third Varsity Eight A:
Coxswain: Shealyn Mathews, stroke: Jane Aulenback, 7: Emily Quaglia, 6: Melissa Chavez, 5: Megan Conway, 4: Maclaine Sisco, 3: Meghan Dens, 2: Megan Cronquist, bow: Alexis Carriere.

Third Varsity Eight B:
Coxswain: Kylie Hasegawa, stroke: Alexandra Root, 7: Caroline Henry, 6: Catherine Goldberg, 5: Olivia Guyon, 4: Jillian Bungard, 3: Caroline Mitton, 2: Anne LaGatta, bow: Katelyn Olsson.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store