Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Women's Lacrosse

Igoe, Wilton Named to Tewaaraton Watch List

Feb. 17, 2012

CHESTNUT HILL, Mass. - Graduate student Kristin Igoe and senior Brittany Wiltonwere named to the 2012 Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List, according to an announcement made Wednesday.

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 and is the preeminent lacrosse award honoring the nation's top collegiate lacrosse player for her extraordinary achievements on the field.

In addition to Igoe and Wilton, thirteen other Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) women's lacrosse student-athletes were named to the watch list. Four ACC athletes have won the Tewaaraton Award since its inception.

The selection committee will be making additions to the watch list as the season progresses. In late April, the list will be narrowed to 25 athletes, whom will earn the distinction of Tewaaraton Nominees. In mid-May, five finalists will be announced and will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, which will take place on May 31 at the Smithsonian Institute's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

Below are this year's ACC representatives on the 2012 Tewaaraton Award watch list:

Kara Cannizzaro, Midfield - University of North Carolina
Brittany Dipper, Goalie - University of Maryland
Charlie Finnigan, Attack - University of Virginia
Julie Gardner, Midfield - University of Virginia
Emma Hamm, Attack - Duke University
Kristin Igoe, Midfield - Boston College
Karri Ellen Johnson, Attack - University of Maryland
Becky Lynch, Attack - University of North Carolina
Mollie Mackler, Goalie - Duke University
Josie Owen, Attack - University of Virginia
Iliana Sanza, Midfield - University of Maryland
Katie Schwarzmann, Midfield - University of Maryland
Kat Thomas, Midfield - Duke University
Brittany Wilton, Midfield - Boston College
Laura Zimmerman, Midfield - University of North Carolina

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store