Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Women's Ice Hockey

Crowley Among AHCA Coach of the Year Finalists

March 13, 2012

Chestnut Hill, Mass. – Boston College Women’s Ice Hockey Head Coach Katie King Crowley was featured on the list of 2011-12 American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Division I Coach of the Year Finalists released on Monday, March 12 by the organization. She is joined by seven other coaches from around the country.

To be a finalist, coaches must either be elected Coach of the Year in their respective conferences or lead their team to the NCAA Frozen Four.

Crowley and the fourth-ranked Eagles will be making their second straight appearance at the Frozen Four on Friday, March 16. BC entered the year with its highest-ever preseason ranking, sixth, and remained in the top five throughout the year. At 24-9-3 so far this season the Maroon and Gold have matched the school-record win total established by the 2006 and 2010 squads that also reached the national semifinal. The Hockey East Coach of the Year Finalist guided Boston College to a 15-4-2 record in league play, its most wins since Crowley took over the program. She is the winningest coach in program history at 89-54-26.

Three coaches from the Hockey East are named among the finalists: Crowley, Dave Flint of Northeastern and Maria Lewis of Maine. The league has never had a coach named AHCA Division I Coach of the Year in the 14 years of the award’s existence.

The list also features Paul Colontino (Robert Morris), Doug Derraugh (Cornell), Brad Frost (Minnesota), Mark Johnson (Wisconsin) and Chris Wells (St. Lawrence).

The winner will be announced after the conclusion of the NCAA Championship game at AMSOIL Arena in Duluth, Minn. However, the award will not be presented until the AHCA Convention on Friday, April 27, in Naples, Fla.

No. 4 Boston College will meet No. 1 Wisconsin at 6 p.m. (5 p.m. CT) on Friday. The Eagles were ousted by the Badgers, 3-2, on a last-minute goal in last year’s Frozen Four. No. 2 Minnesota takes on No. 3 Cornell in the other semifinal at 9 p.m. The victors play for the national title on Sunday, March 18 at 4 p.m.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store