Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Men's Track

Billetti, Mulvey, Speer Earn ACC Postgrad Scholarships

April 16, 2014

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Three Boston College student-athletes - Anthony Bellitti (cross country/track and field), Hannah Mulvey (field hockey) and Tory Speer (softball) - are among 44 Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes who have been selected for the Weaver-James-Corrigan Award, ACC Commissioner John Swofford has announced.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan and Jim and Pat Thacker postgraduate scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $5,000 toward his or her graduate education. Those honored have performed with distinction in both the classroom and their respective sport, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan Award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James, as well as Gene Corrigan, the first three ACC commissioners. The league's first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954-70 after a stint as the Director of Athletics at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.

Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served in that capacity for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletics and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner on September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan's tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.

Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James postgraduate scholarships were given as separate honors. The Jim Weaver Award, which originated in 1970, recognized exceptional achievement on the playing field and in the classroom, while the Bob James Award, established in 1987, also honored outstanding student-athletes.

The Thacker Award, which originated in 2005, is given in honor of the late Jim and Pat Thacker of Charlotte, N.C. Jim Thacker was the primary play-by-play announcer for the ACC's first television network. Recipients of the award must demonstrate outstanding performance both in athletic competition and in the classroom and intend to further their education through postgraduate studies at an ACC institution.

The 50 student-athletes will be honored at the annual ACC Postgraduate Luncheon presented by ESPN on April 16, 2014, in the Guilford Ballroom at the Sheraton Greensboro at the Four Seasons.

2014 Weaver-James-Corrigan Award Recipient Bios

Anthony Bellitti; Boston College; History; Men's Cross Country/Track & Field; Basking Ridge, N.J. Bellitti is a four-year member of the Boston College cross country, indoor and outdoor track teams. He served as team captain of the cross country team this past fall. Bellitti is a four-year member of the BC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and currently serves as the committee president. He is a three-time recipient of the Athletic Director's Award for Academic Achievement and has made the ACC Academic Honor Roll three times. In 2012, Bellitti helped lead the cross country team to a second place finish at the New England Championships. He earned All-New England accolades in the 3000m steeple chase in 2011 and 2012, and has had a breakout indoor track season this year with IC4A qualifiers in the mile (4:14.23) and 3000m (8:22.36).

Hannah Mulvey; Boston College; Economics; Field Hockey; Milton, Mass. Hannah Mulvey, a Milton, Mass., native was a four-year member of the Boston College field hockey team. She was named to the NFHCA Academic Squad as a junior and sophomore and is up for consideration again as a senior. She is also a three-time recipient of the Athletics Director's Award for Academic Achievement and a two-time ACC Academic Honor Roll honoree. A defensive back for the Eagles, she played in 40 games in her career and recorded her first points as a senior, notching three assists in 2013. As a senior, Mulvey is a vice president of the student-athletes advisory committee (SAAC) and has made multiple trips with other BC student-athletes to New Orleans during the winter break to help rebuild homes destroyed by Hurricane Katrina.

Tory Speer; Boston College; Communication; Softball; Trabuco Canyon, Calif. A senior captain of the Boston College Softball team, Speer led the Eagles last season in batting average (.331), doubles (11), home runs (15), RBI (38) and walks (41). Her 15 home runs set a BC single-season record. She currently ranks second all-time at BC in career on base percentage (.414), doubles (33) and walks (78)and is third in slugging percentage (.574). As a freshman, she was named ACC Freshman of the Year and earned ECAC All-Star status. Last season Speer was named second team All-ACC. Speer is a three-time member of the All-ACC Academic Team and has earned ACC Academic Honor Roll accolades and the Athletic Director's Award for Academic Achievement three times.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store