Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Ice Hockey

Three Hockey Players Named To 2011 U.S. National Junior Team

Dec. 22, 2010

Three Boston College men's hockey players - defenseman Brian Dumoulin, forward Chris Kreider and defenseman Patrick Wey - are three of 22 players named to the 2011 U.S. National Junior Team that will compete at the International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championship, Dec. 26, 2010 - Jan. 5, 2011, in Buffalo and Niagara, N.Y., according to an announcement made by USA Hockey on Wednesday.

Team USA will compete in its final exhibition contest against Norway on Thursday, Dec. 23. The game will be webcast live on and will start at 7:30 p.m. EST. It will then face Finland in its opening-round game of the 2011 IIHF World Junior Championship on Sunday, Dec. 26 at 8 p.m. in Buffalo, N.Y.

The NHL Network U.S. will provide exclusive live coverage of all U.S. National Junior Team games at the 2011 IIHF World Junior Championships with Gary Thorne (play-by-play), Dave Starman (analyst), Fred Pletsch (rinkside, preliminary round) and Billy Jaffe (rinkside, medal round) calling the action.

Boston College has three players competing in the World Junior Championship for the first time since 2006 when Dan Bertram competed for Canada and Nathan Gerbe and Cory Schneider played for Team USA. It marks the first time since the 1998 tournament that three Eagles represented the U.S. BC had four players - Jeff Farkas, Brian Gionta, Mike Mottau and Bobby Allen - on the 1998 U.S. Junior National Team.

The 2010-11 Eagles, who are 11-5-0 through their first 16 games of the season, return to action on Thursday, Dec. 30 against Colgate in the Ledyard National Bank Classic at Dartmouth College in Hanover, N.H. The Eagles will conclude the two-game holiday tournament against either Mercyhurst or Dartmouth on Friday, Dec. 31.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store