Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Ice Hockey

Pike's Peak Hosts 65th Awards Banquet

Johnny Gaudreau is the highest-scoring Eagle in a single season under head coach Jerry York (36-44-80)

Johnny Gaudreau is the highest-scoring Eagle in a single season under head coach Jerry York (36-44-80)

April 28, 2014

Photo Gallery (Facebook)

Junior forward Johnny Gaudreau became the 12th Eagle in program history to be honored twice as the Norman F. Dailey award, symbolizing Boston College's Most Valuable Player on Sunday afternoon at the 65th annual Pike's Peak Club awards banquet that celebrated the Eagles' 2013-14 season at the Westin hotel in Waltham, Mass. 

Gaudreau, who finished as an all-time top 10 scorer in Boston College history in just three years (78-97-175), joins Cam Atkinson (2010 & 2011), Cory Schneider (2006 & 2007), Tony Voce (2002 & 2004), Brian Gionta (2000 & 2001), Mike Mottau (1998, 1999 & 2000), Marty Reasoner (1996, 1997 & 1998), Greg Taylor (1994 & 1995), Joe Mullen (1978 & 1979), Richie Smith (1975 & 1976), Tom Mellor (1971 & 1973) and Tim Sheehy (1968 & 1970) as multiple MVP award winners. Reasoner and Mottau are the program's only three-time winners. 

Senior forwards Bill Arnold and Patrick Brown both shared the John "Snooks" Kelley Memorial Award as the individuals who best typify Boston College hockey. Arnold received the award in 2012-13 and is just the second player in program history to earn the award twice. 

Kelley served as team manager for three years before becoming a "playing manager" in his senior year in 1928. He assumed coaching duties at his alma mater in 1932 and led the program right up until his retirement after the 1971-72 season. Kelley became the first coach in college hockey history to surpass the 500-victory plateau. He finished his career with a 501-243-15 mark. 

Senior defenseman Isaac MacLeod was bestowed with the William J. Flynn Coaches Award, decided upon by head coach Jerry York and his staff. Flynn, class of 1939, was a former BC student-athlete, faculty member, coach and served as Director of Athletics from 1957-90. MacLeod also captured the Academic Excellence Award as the senior with the highest grade point average. 

Senior forward Kevin Hayes earned the team's Most Improved Player award that is named for James E. Tiernan, the 1956 Beanpot MVP. Hayes finished second in the country in scoring this year (1.62 ppg) and nearly tripled his points total from last year with 27 goals and 38 assists (65 points) in 2013-14. 

Goaltender Thatcher Demko and defenseman Steven Santini shared the Bernie Burke Outstanding Freshman Award, named in honor of the former BC goalie and long-time freshman coach. Both Demko and Santini earned spots on the 2014 Hockey East All-Rookie Team. 

Junior goaltender Brian Billett became the second recipient of the Francis Kirby Connelly Memorial Award, given to the student-athlete who best exemplifies the ideals of the Ignatian spirit of service to others. 

Boston College wrapped up the 2013-14 season with its 11th trip to the Frozen Four under York and fourth in the last seven seasons. The Eagles finished with a 28-8-4 record and a 16-2-2 mark in Hockey East action. From Dec. 6 to Feb. 22, Boston College amassed a 19-game unbeaten streak with, 17 wins and draws, before losing to Notre Dame on March 1. That run matched the longest unbeaten string under York. BC also captured its fifth-consecutive Beanpot title and Hockey East record 13th regular season crown. 

Fr. Jack Harrington `79 delivered the invocation and Fr. Tony Penna `70 delivered the benediction. 

Pike's Peak Club President Barry Hynes `85 opened and closed the program and former Eagle Andy Powers '99, who now provides color commentary for BC Hockey broadcasts on WEEI, served as Master of Ceremony.

Brad Bates, Boston College Director of Athletics, presented the portraits to the seniors.

Jerry York '67 saluted his team, his players and gave a special farewell to Gaudreau, the highest-scoring Eagle for a single season in York's 20-year run on The Heights. York also gave thanks to his staff and commented on how excited his is for the future of Boston College hockey. 

Presenting the awards were: Lee Blossom '83, Brooks Dyroff '13, John Hegarty '94, Andrew Orpik '09 and Joe Rooney '07.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store