Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Ice Hockey

Pike's Peak Hosts 64th Awards Banquet

Captain Pat Mullane addresses the Pike's Peak Hockey Club at its annual awards dinner at the Westin hotel in Waltham, Mass.

Captain Pat Mullane addresses the Pike's Peak Hockey Club at its annual awards dinner at the Westin hotel in Waltham, Mass.

April 28, 2013

Photo Gallery

Sophomore forward Johnny Gaudreau and senior forward Steven Whitney shared the Norman F. Dailey award as Boston College's Most Valuable Players and all seniors were honored at the 64th annual Pike's Peak Club awards banquet that celebrated the Eagles' 2012-13 season on Sunday at the Westin hotel in Waltham, Mass.

Three players - junior Bill Arnold, senior Pat Mullane and senior Parker Milner - shared the John "Snooks" Kelley Memorial Award as the individuals who best typify Boston College hockey.

Kelley served as team manager for three years before becoming a "playing manager" in his senior year in 1928. He assumed coaching duties at his alma mater in 1932 and led the program right up until his retirement after the 1971-72 season. Kelley became the first coach in college hockey history to surpass the 500-victory plateau. He finished his career with a 501-243-15 mark.

Senior defensemen Patch Alber and Patrick Wey shared the William J. Flynn Coaches Award, decided upon by head coach Jerry York and his staff. Flynn, class of 1939, was a former BC student-athlete, faculty member, coach and served as Director of Athletics from 1957-90.

Sophomore forward Quinn Smith earned the team's Most Improved Player award that is named for James E. Tiernan, the 1956 Beanpot MVP.

Michael Matheson, a unanimous Hockey East All-Rookie team honoree, earned the Bernie Burke Outstanding Freshman Award, named in honor of the former BC goalie and long-time freshman coach.

Brooks Dyroff captured the Academic Excellence Award as the senior with the highest grade point average and Whitney was also recognized with the Academic Achievement Award.

Dyroff was also the inaugural recipient of the Francis Kirby Connelly Memorial Award, given to the student-athlete who best exemplifies the ideals of the Ignatian spirit of service to others.

Boston College finished the 2012-13 season with a 22-12-4 record. The Eagles captured the Beanpot title and earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament.

Pike's Peak is the program's booster organization that also recognized the 25th anniversary team of 1987-88 and the 50th anniversary team of 1962-63.

Fr. Jack Harrington `79 delivered the invocation and Fr. Tony Penna `70 delivered the benediction.

Pike's Peak Club President Barry Hynes `85 opened and closed the program and 98.5 The Sports Hub's Ryan Johnston served as the Master of Ceremony.

Brad Bates, Boston College Director of Athletics, presented the portraits to the seniors.

Jerry York '67 saluted every hockey Eagle who has ever worn the sweater, thanked the players' parents, recognized his staff and implored the importance of obtaining a Boston College degree in his closing remarks.

Presenting the awards were: Lee Blossom '83, Don Croatti, John Hegarty '94, BC senior associate athletics director Tom Peters, Rob Riley `78, Cheryl Duddy Schoenfeld '87 and Joe Whitney '11.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store