Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Ice Hockey

Gaudreau, Eagles Headline All-New New England Awards

Jerry York was tabbed the Clark Hodder Award winner presented annually by the New England Hockey Writers Association

Jerry York was tabbed the Clark Hodder Award winner presented annually by the New England Hockey Writers Association

April 2, 2014

Boston College junior forward Johnny Gaudreau won the Leonard Fowle Award as New England’s most valuable player along with the Herb Gallagher Award as its best forward according to an announcement made by the New England Hockey Writers’ Association on Wednesday. 

The Carneys Point, N.J., native won both the Leonard Fowle and Herb Gallagher awards in 2013. 

Gaudreau becomes the sixth player to capture the Fowle Award in back-to-back seasons (2013 and 2014), joining Boston University’s Chris Drury (1997 and 1998), Harvard’s Mark Fusco (1982 and 1983), Middlebury’s Phil Latreille (1960 and 1961), Harvard’s Bob Cleary (1957 and 1958) and Northeastern’s Ray Picard (1952 and 1953). 

Gaudreau was joined by senior Kevin Hayes (forward) and sophomore Michael Matheson (defense) as a New England Men’s Division I All-Star while senior Bill Arnold won the Frank Jones Award as New England’s top defensive forward. Matheson was tabbed a New England All-Star as a rookie, as well.

Boston College head coach Jerry York was tabbed the Clark Hodder Award winner as the region’s Division I Coach of the Year after leading the Eagles back to the Frozen Four for the second time in three seasons. In his 20th season on The Heights, York earned his third Bob Kullen Coach of the Year Award presented by Hockey East at this year’s annual conference postseason banquet. Boston College matched York’s 19-game unbeaten streak record this season and led BC to its fifth-consecutive Beanpot title.

This marks York’s second Clark Hodder Award. He won it in 2004, as well. 

Gaudreau, Hayes and Matheson were joined on the New England Division I All-Star team by four forwards (New Hampshire’s Kevin Goumas, Bentley’s Brett Gensler, Northeastern’s Kevin Roy and Maine’s Devin Shore), three defensemen (Maine’s Ben Hutton, New Hampshire’s Eric Knodel and Bentley’s Steve Weinstein) and two goaltenders (UMass Lowell’s Connor Hellebuyck and Northeastern’s Clay Witt). 

The New England Hockey Writers Division I All-Star teams and awards have been finalized after tallying votes from all Division I coaches and respective media outlets throughout New England. This year’s banquet will be held on Wednesday, April 16, at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass. The banquet will start at 6 p.m. All awards and All-Star teams will be presented at the gala. All coaches, student-athletes, family members and friends are encouraged to attend Wednesday’s banquet. Please contact Mike Brown at (781) 245-2122 or by email at for information on attending this event. Cost is $40 per person.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store