Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Ice Hockey

Gaudreau Wins 62nd annual Walter Brown Award

Gaudreau's 69 points stands as the 10th-most prolific season in Boston College hockey history.

Gaudreau's 69 points stands as the 10th-most prolific season in Boston College hockey history.

March 26, 2014

Gridiron Club of Great Boston site

BOSTON – Boston College junior forward Johnny Gaudreau has been named the winner of the 62nd Walter Brown Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England as announced by Gridiron Club of Greater Boston president Bob Norton. 

Gaudreau finished first in the final balloting ahead of linemate and runner-up, Bill Arnold, and third-place finisher Steve Weinstein of Bentley University. 

The Walter Brown Award is the oldest nationally-recognized college hockey honor. It was established in 1953 and named for the coach of the 1933 Massachusetts Rangers, which was the first American team to win the World Championship. 

Gaudreau is the 24th Eagle to earn the Walter Brown Award and is the third BC player in the last four years to pick up the distinction, joining Steve Whitney (2013) and John Muse (2011). The 5-foot-8 winger also joins three of his Boston College coaches on the list, including Jerry York (1967), Greg Brown (1990) and Mike Ayers (2003 – Ayers won the award as a student-athlete at New Hampshire). 

Wednesday’s honor marks another accolade for Gaudreau in what has turned out to be a season to remember. 

Gaudreau was recently named Hockey East Player of the Year for the second-consecutive season after scoring at least one point in all 20 conference games and totaled 18 goals and 18 assists in Hockey East play. For a majority of this year, the third-year forward has led the entire NCAA in scoring and currently leads the country with 1.86 points per game. 

“Johnny is one of those few players in college hockey who brings the crowd to their feet whenever he has the puck,” York said of Gaudreau. “They’re on their feet in anticipation of something special happening.” 

The speedy left winger made headlines this season when he assembled a point streak that tied a Hockey East legend. Gaudreau secured a 31-game point streak that spanned from Nov. 1, 2013, to March 15, 2014. His 134-day run matched the University of Maine's Paul Kariya and his 31-game streak that stretched from Oct. 23, 1992, to March 2, 1993. Over the course of Gaudreau's point streak, he accrued 29 goals and 32 assists, averaging 1.91 points per game and a +33 rating. 

Gaudreau has been held off the score sheet only twice in 37 games played this season (Oct. 27 - at Minnesota and March 16 vs. Notre Dame). 

Heading into the NCAA Tournament, Gaudreau has accrued 69 points by way of 32 goals and 37 assists. His season point total is the most in college hockey since Miami (Ohio)’s Andy Miele posted 71 points in 2010-11. 

Gaudreau’s 69 points stands as the 10th-most prolific season in Boston College hockey history.

For his three-year career, Gaudreau is averaging 1.41 points per game with 164 total points (74-90-164) in 116 games played. That mark is currently third best amongst all college hockey players and is the only junior in the top 15 on that list.

Last week, Gaudreau was named a Hobey Baker Top 10 finalist along with linemate Kevin Hayes. Gaudreau was a Hobey Hat Trick finalist last season.

Gaudreau will be presented the award at the New England Hockey Writers dinner on Wednesday, April 16, in Saugus, Mass.

Boston College earned an at-large bid into the 2014 NCAA Tournament and will play Denver on Saturday, March 29, at 4 p.m. (EST) at the DCU Center in Worcester, Mass. The Eagles will be the No. 1 seed in the Northeast regional. The Eagles earned their 15th NCAA Tournament berth in the last 17 seasons (2002, 2009), including five-consecutive trips to the postseason.

Walter Brown Award Recipients at Boston College

1954       Bob Babine

1961       Tom Martin

1963       Bill Hogan

1966       John Cunniff

1967       Jerry York

1968       Tim Sheehy

1969       Paul Hurley

1970       Tim Sheehy

1973       Tom Mellor

1976       Richie Smith

1978       Joe Mullen

1980       Bill Army

1981       Mark Switaj

1986       Scott Harlow

1987       Brian Leetch

1990       Greg Brown

1991       Dave Emma

1999       Mike Mottau

2000       Mike Mottau

2001       Brian Gionta

2005       Chris Collins

2011       John Muse

2013       Steven Whitney

2014       Johnny Gaudreau

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store