Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Ice Hockey

Men's Hockey To Participate In 2011-12 Ice Breaker Tournament At North Dakota

Feb. 23, 2011

Boston College will open its 2011-12 season at the 15th annual Ice Breaker Tournament set for Oct. 7-8 at Ralph Engelstad Arena in Grand Forks, N.D., according to an announcement made by College Hockey, Inc., in conjunction with the University of North Dakota athletics department and Ralph Engelstad Arena.

The Ice Breaker Tournament will feature four of the elite programs in college hockey - Boston College, North Dakota, Michigan State and Air Force.

Boston College will be making its fourth appearance in the Ice Breaker Tournament, having previously participated in 1998-99 (Minneapolis), 2003-04 (East Lansing, Mich.) and 2007-08 (St. Paul, Minn.).

"This will be our fourth appearance in the Ice Breaker and we're very much looking forward to it," Boston College coach Jerry York said. "This particular tournament is of great interest to us because of the perennial national powers in the field. It's our distinct privilege to be a part of it and we look forward to the stern early-season test that it will provide for our team."

College Hockey, Inc. or the Hockey Commissioners Association (HCA), which represents the nation's five NCAA Division I ice-hockey playing conferences, have sponsored the Ice Breaker Tournament since its inception in 1997. College Hockey, Inc. was formed in 2009 by the HCA as the educational and marketing resource for Division I men's hockey.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store