Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Ice Hockey

Gaudreau, U.S. Capture WJC Gold

Jan. 5, 2013

Boston College sophomore forward Johnny Gaudreau and U.S. National team won the gold medal with a 3-1 victory over Sweden on Saturday, Jan. 5, 2013 at the International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championships at Ufa Arena in Ufa, Russia.

It marks the third World Junior title for the U.S. of all time - and second in the last four years. The Americans previously defeated Canada in the final in Helsinki (2004) and Saskatoon (2010).

Gaudreau finished the tournament as its leading goal scorer and tied for fifth in points (9).

He scored all seven of his goals in the last four games and was named to the media all-star team that also consisted of tournament MVP and Directorate Best Goalie John Gibson (USA), Best Defenseman Jacob Trouba (USA), Best Forward Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (CAN), defenseman Jake McCabe (USA) and forward Filip Forsberg (SWE).

Additionally, Gaudreau was named one of Team USA's top three players of the tournament (along with Gibson and Trouba), marking the second straight year in which a Boston College player has earned that honor. Bill Arnold earned the distinction at the 2012 IIHF World Junior Championships in Alberta after he registered six points in six games.

Gaudreau joins Patrick Eaves (2004) and Chris Kreider (2010), who have each captured gold medals in World Junior Championship play for the U.S., and Dan Betram, who was a member of back-to-back gold-medal-winning Canadian teams (2006-07), as Boston College gold medal winners.

Gaudreau and Team USA begins its return trip to the United States just a few hours after the game. The team departs Ufa at approximately 6 a.m. local time on Sunday, Jan. 6, arriving in Helsinki a few hours later. Following a layover, Team USA departs Helsinki in the early afternoon, landing in New York City in the early evening. Players and staff will be returning to their teams on Jan. 6 or Jan. 7, depending on their final destination.

The United States will aim to defend its title at the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship in Malmö, Sweden.

Next year's U20 will take place with a new format. All eight teams will play in the quarter-finals; the 5th-place game will be eliminated; and, the bottom two teams in each group will play a best-of-three to determine which country gets demoted.

Gaudreau is the 21st Eagle participant in World Junior play under head coach Jerry York, joining Jeff Farkas (1996, 1997, 1998), Marty Reasoner (1996, 1997), Blake Bellefuille (1997), Brian Gionta (1998, 1999), Mike Mottau (1998), Bobby Allen (1998), Brooks Orpik (2000), J.D. Forrest (2001), Ben Eaves (2002), Chuck Kobasew (Canada; 2002), Patrick Eaves (2003, 2004), Ryan Shannon (2003), Bertram (Canada; 2006, 2007), Cory Schneider (2005, 2006), Nathan Gerbe (2006, 2007), Jimmy Hayes (2009), Kreider (2010, 2011), Brian Dumoulin (2011), Patrick Wey (2011) and Arnold (2012).

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store