Official Site of the Boston College Eagles


Hasselbeck Wins Scanlan Award

Tim Hasselbeck won the Scanlan Award at the annual football banquet held on Sunday.

Tim Hasselbeck won the Scanlan Award at the annual football banquet held on Sunday.

Dec. 4, 2000

CHESTNUT HILL, Mass. - Boston College senior quarterback Tim Hasselbeck was honored with the Thomas F. Scanlan Award on Sunday as the team held its annual banquet.

The Scanlan Award is given each year to the BC player who best exemplifies the ideals of scholar, athlete, gentlemen and friend. The award is named after Tom Scanlan '20 who was a Boston College student-athlete, active alumnus and past president of the Varsity Club (1941-45). Scanlan passed away in an untimely fashion in 1953.

Hasselbeck was one of three captains for the Eagles this season and finished his career among the BC leaders. He was sixth in career passing with 3,980 yards and fifth in passing touchdowns with 29, sixth in total offense with 4,233 yards, seventh in passing completion percentage with 55.5 percent, seventh in pass completions (278), seventh in pass attempts (501) and seventh in career plays (636).

His 16 passing touchdowns this season is eighth in the single-season record book. This season he was third in the BIG EAST in passing efficiency (135.7), fourth in passing yards per game (181.0) and third in total offense (195.1).

Hasselbeck has graduated from BC with a degree in marketing and is currently taking graduate courses in administrative studies.

Tracy Blaisdell '82, president of the Varsity Club, presented the award and three former Scanlan Award winners were also on hand - John Leone from 1966, Tom Lynch from 197 and Rob Clifford from 1995.

Other awards presented were:

The William J. Flynn Award (team MVP as voted by teammates) - RB William Green, gained 1,164 yards rushing to be ranked second in the BIG EAST and 20th nationally...his rushing total is the sixth-highest in school single-season history and had four games of over 100 yards rushing and two over 200. Unsung Hero Award - RB Cedric Washington, the starting tailback for the Eagles in nine games who rushed for 100 yards in two games this season...the 13th-leading rusher in school history with 1,982 career yards.

Coaches' Award - OT Paul Zukauskas, a starting offensive guard for the Eagles who is a team tri-captain...part of an offensive line that allowed just six sacks this year...started 10 game this season and in 33 for his career, plus one bowl.

Paul Cavanaugh Award (given to player who on and off the field embodies a total commitment to the BC team) - LB Ryan Burch, a standout performer at the linebacker spot who converted from being the starting fullback in 1999.

Scout Team Award - Chris Snee on offense and Myron Hunter on defense.

Special Teams Award - PK Mike Sutphin, earned first team all-BIG EAST Conference honors and was 12-of-14 on field goal attempts this season and missed just two extra points.

Jay McGillis Award (named after the late BC defensive back and awarded the defensive back who best embodies the qualities of McGillis) CB Jonathan Ordway, missed four games this season due to a knee injury, but still made 25 tackles and was a team leader.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store