Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Men's Basketball

Men's Basketball Selected 12th In ACC Preseason Poll

Oct. 19, 2011

Boston College was selected 12th in the Atlantic Coast Conference's preseason men's basketball media poll. The announcement was made at the league's "Operation Basketball" (media day), which was held at the The Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Charlotte, N.C., on Wednesday.

North Carolina was selected first in the preseason media poll. The Tar Heels were picked to finish first in 57 of 59 ballots. Duke was picked second, followed by Florida State. Virginia was tabbed to finish fourth, followed by Miami and Virginia Tech.

The second half of the preseason list was - in order - Clemson, NC State, Maryland, Georgia Tech, Wake Forest and BC.

The All-Conference (preseason) Team featured North Carolina's Harrison Barnes, John Henson and Tyler Zeller, Miami's Malcolm Grant, Duke's Seth Curry and Virginia's Mike Scott.

Barnes, the lone unanimous selection on the All-Conference Team, was selected as the ACC Preseason Player of the Year. Duke's Austin Rivers was the preseason choice as the conference's Rookie of the Year.

Boston College, which finished the 2010-11 season with a 21-13 record, including a 9-7 mark in conference play, opens the 2011-12 season with a Nov. 14 home game against New Hampshire.

Media Day Notes: Head coach Steve Donahue, and freshmen Dennis Clifford and Patrick Heckmann represented the Eagles at the event ... The event featured nearly seven hours of interviews. The 12 league coaches headed to the nearby ESPNU studio in Charlotte for four hours of morning interviews, before returning to the hotel for three hours of print, radio and more television interviews. Many of the league's finest players in attendance spent two and one-half hours with the media in the hotel, before departing for the ESPNU studios to conduct additional interviews ... Among the players in attendance were North Carolina's John Henson and Harrison Barnes, Duke's Miles Plumlee and Ryan Kelly, Miami's Durand Scott and Malcolm Grant and Virginia Tech's Erick Green and Dorenzo Hudson.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store