Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Men's Basketball

Men's Basketball Honors Announced

May 6, 2012

CHESTNUT HILL, Mass. - Freshman forward Ryan Anderson earned team MVP honors and senior forward Peter Rehnquist captured the Frank Power Memorial Award, highlighting the program's year-end Roundball Club Banquet. The event was held in the Shea Room on the Boston College campus.

The Frank Power Memorial Award is given annually in memory of the longtime Boston College basketball coach to the player who exemplifies the dedication, loyalty, spirit and love for Boston College and its basketball program that was characteristic of Coach Power and his life.

Anderson was a unanimous selection to the 2011-12 All-ACC Freshman Team. The Lakewood, Calif., product averaged 11.2 points and 7.4 rebounds per game this past season, leading the team in both categories.

Rehnquist, a walk-on, joined the program prior to the 2009-10 season. In three seasons, the Sharon, Mass., resident saw action in 24 games, including eight games this past season.

In addition to Anderson and Rehnquist's honors, three other awards were presented at the banquet. Rehnquist earned the program's Learning Resources/Academic Award; freshman Dennis Clifford captured the Coaches' Award; and senior Charlie Dorn earned the Mary Kay Waldron Managers' Award.

Boston College finished the 2011-12 season with a 9-22 mark, including a 4-12 record in Atlantic Coast Conference action.

Fr. Greg Kalscheur, S.J. offered the invocation, before the radio voice of the Eagles, Jon Meterparel, took over as the master of ceremonies. Among those presenting the awards were former Eagles Malcolm Huckaby '94 and Marc Molinsky ' 95.

Richard Ramirez of the Boston College Varsity Club addressed the gathering and welcomed each of the team's seniors into the club.

Video coordinator Dan McDermott entertained those in attendance with a spectacular team highlight video.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store