Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Men's Basketball

John Bagley Named 2012 ACC Tournament Legend

Feb. 9, 2012

Complete ACC Release

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Former men's basketball great John Bagley has been named Boston College's representative in the 2012 class of Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Basketball Tournament Legends, announced Thursday by Commissioner John Swofford.

Bagley, one of the top playmaking guards in Boston College history, played three seasons (1979-82) for the Eagles for Coach Dr. Tom Davis and led BC to a 64-27 record and one NIT and two NCAA tournament appearances. The first Eagle to earn Big East Player of the Year honors (1980-81), Bagley was an explosive scorer who averaged nearly 18 points per game and led BC in scoring in each of his three seasons at the Heights.

A two-time All-Big East selection, he averaged 20.4 points per game in leading the Eagles to the 1980-81 Big East regular-season championship and the NCAA Tournament's Sweet 16. The following year, Bagley upped his production to 21.1 points per game and led BC to the NCAA Tournament's Elite Eight. He was named to the NCAA all-tournament teams for both the 1981 Mideast Regional and the 1982 Midwest Regional.

Bagley left BC after his junior season and was the 12th overall pick in the first round by the Cleveland Cavaliers in the 1982 NBA Draft. He enjoyed an 11-year career in the NBA for the Cavaliers, the New Jersey Nets, the Boston Celtics and the Atlanta Hawks.

Inducted into the Boston College Varsity Club Athletic Hall of Fame in 1995, he currently resides in Stratford, Conn., and is working to reintroduce athletics into the middle school system of his hometown, Bridgeport, Conn.

Bagley joins previous Boston College standouts who have already participated in the Legends program, including Dana Barros (2006), Jay Murphy (2007), Bill Curley (2008), Danya Abrams (2009), Terry Driscoll (2010) and Michael Adams (2011).

The Legends will be honored at this year's ACC Men's Basketball Tournament in Atlanta at the annual ACC Basketball Legends Brunch, which will be held on Saturday, March 10 beginning at 10 a.m. at the Marriott Marquis Hotel. The event will be hosted by television personalities Tim Brant and Mike Hogewood. Tickets are priced at $35 each and tables of 10 for $350 each. Information on purchasing tickets may be obtained at the official ACC

The complete 2012 legends class includes: Sharone Wright (Clemson), Kenny Dennard (Duke), James Collins (Florida State), Malcolm Mackey (Georgia Tech), Johnny Rhodes (Maryland), Ron Godfrey (Miami), Kenny Smith (North Carolina), Todd Fuller (NC State), Lee Raker (Virginia), Dale Solomon (Virginia Tech) and Randolph Childress (Wake Forest).

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store