Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

Men's Basketball

Jack Magee Named ACC Legend

Jan. 29, 2014

Complete ACC Release

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Former men's basketball star Jack Magee has been named Boston College's representative in the 2014 ACC Men's Basketball Legends Class, announced Wednesday by Commissioner John Swofford.

Magee was the leading scorer on the first Boston College team to reach the NCAA Tournament in 1957-58, averaging 15.5 points per game in leading the Eagles to a 16-6 record in his first of two seasons at BC. He and fellow BC Hall of Famer George Giersch were the heroes of the 1958 game against Holy Cross, when the Eagles defeated the Crusaders, 73-68.

Magee then led the Eagles to a 17-9 record as a senior, again leading the team in scoring with 13.1 points per game. He earned honorable mention NABC All-District honors in 1958.

After two years in the Army, Magee returned to BC as an assistant coach to Bob Cousy (1964-66) before becoming head coach at Georgetown, where he posted a six-year record of 68-79 (.463). He led the Hoyas to an 18-7 record in 1969-70.

He was inducted into the Boston College Varsity Club Athletic Hall of Fame in 1986. Originally a native of The Bronx, N.Y., he currently lives in Fairfax, Va.

The Legends will be honored at this year's ACC Men's Basketball Tournament in Greensboro at the annual ACC Basketball Legends Brunch, which will be held on Saturday, March 15, beginning at 10 a.m. in the Guilford Ballroom of the Sheraton Four Seasons Hotel. The event will include a short autograph session with the Legends at the conclusion of the Brunch. Tickets for the ACC Men's Basketball Legends Brunch are priced at $35 each, and tables of 10 are available for $350 each. Information on purchasing tickets may be obtained at the official ACC website --

The complete 2014 legends class includes: Wayne "Tree" Rollins (Clemson), Gene Banks (Duke), Al Thornton (Florida State), Travis Best (Georgia Tech), John Lucas (Maryland), Steve Edwards (Miami), Eric Montross (North Carolina), Julius Hodge (NC State), Pat Garrity (Notre Dame), Don Hennon (Pittsbugh), Dave Bing (Syracuse), Terry Holland (Virginia), Bobby Stevens (Virginia Tech), Sam Ivy (Wake Forest).

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store