Official Site of the Boston College Eagles


Baseball's Shaw Named All-ACC First Team

Shaw tied for eighth in BC record books with 18 doubles in 2014.

Shaw tied for eighth in BC record books with 18 doubles in 2014.

May 19, 2014

Chestnut Hill, Mass - Boston College sophomore Chris Shaw was named to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference First Team on Monday afternoon, voted on by the league's 14 head coaches. The right fielder is the first Eagle to earn the first-team honor since 2010.

Shaw ended the regular-season ranked eighth in the league with a .329 batting average and second among outfielders behind ACC Player of the Year DJ Stewart of Florida State. Shaw also tied for fifth with 68 hits, tied for third with 18 doubles, tied for sixth with 45 RBIs, tied for third with 104 total bases and ninth with a .502 slugging percentage. His .322 batting average in ACC games ranked sixth in the conference, his five home runs and 28 RBIs tied for second, his 37 hits tied for seventh, his 60 total bases ranked fourth and his .522 slugging percentage ranked seventh.

The Lexington, Mass., native's 18 doubles also tied for eighth in BC single-season record books and his six sacrifice flies tied for second. He recorded a 16-game hit streak that was third in Boston College history (dating back to 2005). He ended the season by reaching base safely in the last 21 games and had at least one hit in 22 of the final 24 games.

Shaw started all 55 games for the Eagles (22-33, 10-20 ACC), playing 53 in right. He did not make an error in 105 chances and tallied six outfield assists. He led the Maroon in Gold in nine offensive categories, including batting average, slugging percentage, hits, RBIs, doubles, home runs (6) and multiple-RBI games (10). He also drove in the game-winning run five times.

In 2010, Mickey Wiswall earned All-ACC First-Team honors and in 2009, Tony Sanchez garnered the accolade. In 2012, Tom Bourdon and Anthony Melchionda were named to the second-team.

Virginia's Nathan Kirby and Miami's Chris Diaz were named ACC Co-Pitchers of the Year and Miami catcher Zack Collins earned ACC Freshman of the Year honors. Virginia's Brian O'Connor was selected as the ACC Coach of the Year.

Miami and Clemson each had seven players voted first-, second- or third-team All-ACC, followed by Florida State with six selections. The Seminoles' four first-team selections rank second behind Virginia, followed by NC State with three, and Boston College, Clemson, Miami and North Carolina with one each.

Fifteen of the 48 student-athletes named to the 2014 All-ACC Baseball Team are repeat selections, including a trio of three-time honorees in NC State's Trea Turner and Carlos Rodon, and Clemson second baseman Steve Wilkerson.

2014 All-ACC Baseball Teams

Brett Austin, Jr., C, NC State
Mike Papi, Jr., 1B, Virginia **
John Nogowski, Jr., 1B, Florida State
Branden Cogswell, Jr., 2B, Virginia **
Jose Brizuela ,Jr., 3B, Florida State
Trea Turner, Jr., SS, NC State ***
Chris Shaw, So., OF, Boston College
DJ Stewart, So., OF, Florida State **
Joe McCarthy, So., OF, Virginia **
Nick Howard, Jr., DH/UT, Virginia **
Nathan Kirby, So., SP, Virginia
Daniel Gossett, Jr., SP, Clemson **
Chris Diaz, Jr., SP, Miami
Luke Weaver, Jr., SP, Florida State **
Carlos Rodon, Jr., SP, NC State ***
Reilly Hovis,So.,RP, North Carolina

Mark Zagunis, Jr., C, Virginia Tech **
Thomas Smith, Jr., 1B, Georgia Tech
Steve Wilkerson, Sr., 2B, Clemson ***
Jordan Betts, Sr., 3B, Duke **
Michael Russell, Jr., SS, North Carolina
Tyler Krieger, So., SS, Clemson
Charlie White, Jr., OF, Maryland **
Daniel Spingola, Jr., OF, Georgia Tech
Dale Carey, Sr., OF, Miami
Chris Marconcini, R-Jr., OF, Duke
Matt Gonzalez, So., OF, Georgia Tech
Garrett Boulware, Jr., DH/UT, Clemson
Jake Stinnett, Sr., SP, Maryland
Trent Thornton, So., SP, North Carolina **
Bryan Radziewski, R-Jr., SP, Miami **
Bryan Garcia, Fr., RP, Miami

Zack Collins, Fr., C, Miami
Nate Irving, Jr., C, Virginia
Aaron Cohn, R-Sr., 1B, Duke
Brandon Lowe, R-Fr., 2B, Maryland
Mott Hyde, Sr., 2B, Georgia Tech
Andrew Knizner, Fr., 3B, NC State
Daniel Pinero, Fr., SS, Virginia
Willie Abreu, Fr., OF, Miami
Steven Duggar, So., OF, Clemson
Jay Baum, Jr., OF, Clemson
Josh Delph, Jr., DH/UT, Florida State
Tom Zengel, Sr., DH/UT, North Carolina
Brandon Waddell, So., SP, Virginia
Matthew Crownover, So., SP, Clemson
Andrew Suarez, Jr., SP, Miami
Gage Smith, R-Sr., RP, Florida State

ACC Player of the Year: DJ Stewart, Florida State
ACC Pitchers of the Year: Chris Diaz, Miami & Nathan Kirby, Virginia
ACC Freshman of the Year: Zack Collins, Miami
ACC Coach of the Year: Brian O'Connor, Virginia

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store