Official Site of the Boston College Eagles


Women's Sailing Crowned ICSA National Champions

June 2, 2012

National Championship Photos by Steve Moakley

AUSTIN, TX - The Boston College women's sailing team won the Today was the Sperry Top-Sider/ICSA Women's National Championship on Lake Travis in Austin, Texas, co-hosted by the University of Texas Sailing Team and the Austin Yacht Club. BC defeated 18 women's collegiate teams to win the Gerald C. Miller Trophy.

The race committee was able to run seven races today in both A and B-divisions completing the championship with 13 races total in A and B over the three days of the regatta.

While there was more wind today, gusts up to 14-16 knots from a southeasterly direction, the same shifts--long persistent shifts--like the previous days, moved across the course. The shifts could last for a whole upwind or downwind leg and if the sailors were not in phase with them they could gain or lose places quickly depending on which side of the course they were on.

For Boston College, approaching the conditions today, Greg Wilkinson says, "It was all a matter of being the capable team that we are." The head coach says the racing was extremely close today. They started the day just one point ahead of Georgetown University and going into the last race of the day they held their first place position, but were only one point ahead of the University of Rhode Island, the defending champions. Closely behind Boston and Rhode Island were Yale University and Georgetown--all four teams were within ten points of each other.

"Staying near Rhode Island was a priority," Wilkinson says. Although the racing was close all day he says the team did not really focus on it until the last race. They talked about being ready with aggressive starts, he says, but they felt they had a speed advantage over Rhode Island and thought they would win a tie-breaker with Yale, therefore they felt in a good position.

Boston College was led by senior and Eagle of the Year Annie Haeger, junior Laura McKenna and junior Kelly Roy in A-division and senior Briana Provancha and freshman Beth Barnard in B-division.

Yale took second place winning the New England Women's Trophy. In third, four points behind Yale, winning the Ann Campbell Trophy, was the University of Rhode Island.

For full results and regatta information:

Final Overall Results

1. Boston College, 142

2. Yale University, 146

3. University of Rhode Island, 150

4. Georgetown University, 156

5. Connecticut College, 187

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store