Official Site of the Boston College Eagles


Annie Haeger and Tommy Cross Named Eagles Of The Year

Annie Haeger was chosen as the female Eagle of the Year.

Annie Haeger was chosen as the female Eagle of the Year.

May 4, 2012

Banquet Photo Gallery

Chestnut Hill, MA - Annie Haeger, an All-America sailor, and Tommy Cross, captain of the 2012 NCAA National Champion men's hockey team, earned Eagle of the Year Awards at Boston College's All-Sports Banquet on Friday, May 4.

The Nathaniel J. Hasenfus '22 Eagle of the Year Award is given annually to one male and one female senior student-athlete who are outstanding citizens, leaders, scholars and athletes. It is the most prestigious honor that the athletics department bestows upon a student-athlete.

Haeger is considered the top women's sailor in program history. The Lake Forest, Ill., native was named the 2011 Women's Intercollegiate College Sailing Association (ICSA) Sailor of the Year. She has also been a part of two women's national titles, three co-ed titles and two team national titles.

Haeger has won three Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association Women's Singlehanded National Championships to become a three-time ICSA All-America First Team honoree. In addition, she earned ICSA All-America Co-Ed Second Team honors in 2010. The senior earned the New England Intercollegiate Sailing Association's Women's Sailor of the Year in both 2010 and 2011. She has been named NEISA All-Conference for three-straight years and earned NEISA All-Conference Co-Ed honors for the last two seasons, as well. Haeger won the NEISA Women's Singlehanded Conference Championship in 2009 and 2011, and was the NEISA Rookie of the Year in 2009.

A four-time Athletics Director's Award for Academic Achievement honoree and a Dean's List student, Haeger will graduate in May of 2012 from the Carroll School of Management with a degree in marketing. The sailor is also active in the community, as she helped the team win the 2011 St. Ignatius Cup and works with the HEAR Program, in addition to Food for Families and the Pen Pal Picnic.

Cross, who is also a four-time recipient of the Athletics Director's Award for Academic Achievement, was BC's Junior Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 2011. The 6-foot-3, 215-pound defenseman tallied five goals and nine assists for 14 points and a +15 rating in 2012, en route to being named to the NCAA Northeast Regional All-Tournament Team and earning an All-Hockey East honorable mention.

During his time at the Heights, Cross helped the Eagles to 110 wins, two NCAA titles, three Hockey East Tournament titles, three Beanpot championships and two Hockey East regular-season titles. The defenseman concluded his collegiate career with 17 goals and 43 assists for 60 points in 134 appearances. Other career accolades for Cross include being named to the 2011 Hockey East All-Tournament Team and to the 2009-10 All-Hockey East Academic Team.

Dedicated to helping others, Cross has led the team on several service engagements with the Friends of Jaclyn organization, the Saint Columbkille Partnership School and the YMCA. Additionally, he is a familiar face at Newton North High School, where he has taken an active role in weekly reading sessions. Cross will graduate with a degree in communications from the College of Arts and Sciences.

The Outstanding Scholar-Athlete Awards were also presented at the banquet. These awards are given annually to a male and female student-athlete from each class for excellence in both the classroom and on the playing field. The winners were Caroline King of track & field and Peter Souders of fencing from the senior class; Kristen Mewis of women's soccer and Luke Kuechly of football from the junior class; Nicole Schuster of field hockey and Chris Ager of men's soccer from the sophomore class; and Emily Pfalzerof women's ice hockey and Diego Medina-Mendez of men's soccer from the freshmen class.

This marks the second consecutive year in which Ager, Kuechly and Mewis earned the Outstanding Scholar-Athlete recognition.

Also recognized were 331 BC student-athletes, who earned the Athletics Director's Award for Academic Achievement. They must have an overall grade-point average of 3.0 to garner the honor.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store