Official Site of the Boston College Eagles


Women's Sailing Wins Conference Championship

Annie Haeger was named to the NEISA All-Conference first team for the third striaght season.

Annie Haeger was named to the NEISA All-Conference first team for the third striaght season.

April 23, 2012

Chestnut Hill, MA - The Boston College women's sailing team won the NEISA Conference Championship for the second straight year. The Eagles hosted the championship, sailing on their home waters in Dorchester Bay out of the Savin Hill Yacht Club.

The Eagles were dominant from the beginning. In A-division, senior Annie Haeger and junior Laura McKenna won the first five races and eight of the twelve races sailed on the first day. Senior Briana Provancha and freshman Beth Barnard won four races on the first day and were top three in three others.

Their combined efforts gave the Eagles a huge 50+ point lead over the field of 17 at the end of the first day. On Sunday, both boats came out strong once again, with Provancha/Barnard winning their first two races and Haeger/McKenna adding four additional top two finishes in five races to extend the Eagles lead to 60 points.

Team Notes:

As Conference Champions, BC earns a first round bye at the National Championships and advance directly to the National Championships Finals in Austin, Texas from May 31-June 2 ... The New England Intercollegiate Sailing Association announced its All-Conference Women's Teams this weekend. For the third time in her four years, Annie Haeger was named to the All-Conference Team, first team. Haeger has spent most of 2010-2011 competing in Coed Sailing, however, her women's record is perfect. This fall, she won the Women's Singlehanded Conference Championship and went on to win the Singlehanded National Championship for the third time. This season, Haeger led the Eagles to a win at the Duplin Trophy and won her division and led the Eagles to victory at the Double-handed Conference Championship. Haeger is the reigning Intercollegiate Sailing Association Women's Sailor of the Year and a three-time All-American.

Shop Now! at the Official Online Store