Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

ACC Announces 2011-12 Academic Honor Roll

Aug. 8, 2012

Chestnut Hill, MA -

BC ACC Honor Roll 2011-12 Get Acrobat Reader

The 56th annual Atlantic Coast Conference Academic honor roll, recognizing academic excellence by student-athletes during the 2011-12 academic year, was announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. Boston College was ranked second in the ACC with 369 student-athletes honored by the conference.

The honor roll is comprised of student-athletes who participated in a varsity-level sport and registered a grade point average of 3.00 or better for the full academic year. The conference acknowledged 2,903 student-athletes for their hard work in the classroom during the 2011-12 academic year.

Duke led the league with 452 selections. BC followed with 369. North Carolina was third with 290 honorees, while Virginia placed fourth with 291. Maryland had 259 student-athletes honored, while Virginia Tech followed with 225. NC State (209), Clemson (194), Florida State (192), Georgia Tech (149) and Wake Forest (140) and Miami (133) rounded out the list.

The honor roll for Boston College features both of the 2011-12 Eagle of the Year honorees Tommy Cross and Annie Haeger, as well as 24 football players, including left tackle Emmett Cleary, a three-time recipient. BC's 2011-12 National Championship hockey team was represented by nine student-athletes, including Cross and recently named team captains Pat Mullane and Patrick Wey.

The women's ice hockey team, which advanced to the Frozen Four for the second consecutive season, placed 12 players on the honor roll, including senior Mary Restuccia, a three-time honoree.

Men's and women's soccer were well represented with a total of 22 student-athletes honored. The men had eight players honored including goalkeeper Justin Luthy and All-ACC second teamer Chris Ager. The women's team had 12 players including all six graduating seniors - Alyssa Pember, Alaina Beyar, Marissa Mello, Jillian Mastroianni, Julia Bouchelle and Stephanie Wirth. Pember, Mello and Beyar were all four-time honorees.

The women's lacrosse team placed 13 players on the team, while field hockey had 10 including Catherine O'Brien, a three-time recipient. Softball had 15 student-athletes named to the team, including five-time honoree Irene Delagrammaticas.

The track and field teams had 56 athletes including All-American Caroline King and her sister Jillian, both three-time honorees. The women's national championship sailing team had 14 honored, while men's and women's swim teams placed the most student-athletes on the honor roll with 66.