Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

ACC Announces 2013-14 Academic Honor Roll

Aug. 7, 2014

ACC Honor RollGet Acrobat Reader

Chestnut Hill, Mass. - The 58th annual Atlantic Coast Conference Academic honor roll, recognizing academic excellence by student-athletes during the 2013-14 academic year, was announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. Boston College was ranked second in the ACC with 402 student-athletes honored by the conference.

The honor roll is comprised of student-athletes who participated in a varsity-level sport and registered a grade point average of 3.00 or better for the full academic year. The conference acknowledged 3,967 student-athletes for their hard work in the classroom during the 2013-14 academic year.

Duke led the league with 494 selections. BC followed with 402. Notre Dame saw 397 student-athletes achieve honor roll status while North Carolina had 347 recognized. Virginia was fifth in the conference with 305 student-athletes recognized followed by Virginia Tech with 232, NC State with 230, Syracuse with 229, Maryland with 224, Pittsburgh with 213, Florida State with 202, Clemson with 198, Wake Forest with 183, Georgia Tech with 159 and Miami with 152.

The honor roll for Boston College features 20 football players including Andre Williams, who was the 2013-14 Eagle of the Year and Doak Walker Award winner. The women's ice hockey team 14 players on the honor roll, including the 2013-14 Eagle of the Year honoree Corinne Boyles, who is a five time recipient of the honor roll.

The women's soccer team, which has advanced to the NCAA Tournament 11 straight seasons, had 20 student-athletes named to the honor roll including three-time recipient and All-ACC first team honoree Stephanie McCaffrey and second-team honoree McKenzie Meehan, who was also the leading goal scorer in the conference last season. The men's soccer team placed 11 athletes on the honor roll, including four-time recipient and SAAC President Chris Ager and ACC Freshman of the Year Zeiko Lewis.

Field hockey was represented by 16 student-athletes including Emma Plasteras, who was an NFHCA All-American honoree. The women's lacrosse team placed 19 players on the team, including Mikeala Rix, who was an IWLCA All-American First Team honoree this past season.

The men's and women's swim team placed 66 student-athletes on the honor roll, including Andrew Stranick, who was recently named a CSCAA Academic All-America Honorable Mention honoree. Rowing placed 40 student-athletes on the team while men's and women's track and field had 55 honorees.

All-ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Tory Speer and her teammates Nicole D'Argento and Megan Cooley were three of the seven members of the softball team that were named to the honor roll, while volleyball placed 11 student-athletes on the team.

The sailing team had 23 honored including four-time recipient Shelby Hamilton.