Official Site of the Boston College Eagles

About Flynn Fund
History/William J. Flynn
Ways To Give
Give Online
Donor-Based Seating
GOLD Standard
Football Parking
Curley Volunteer Award

For further information about becoming involved with the
Flynn Fund, please contact us at:
Phone: 617-552-0772

The John P. Curley '13 Award honors an outstanding volunteer who has committed both time and resources to advance the efforts of Boston College and especially the Athletic Department. Named for BC Varsity Club Hall of Fame member John P. Curley '13, the senior football manager for the 1912 Boston College Eagles and Graduate Manager of Athletics from 1929 to 1957 who is widely acknowledged as having brought Boston College Athletics into the modern era, this award fittingly recognizes his lifetime commitment to Boston College and the Athletic Department.

Award Winner: Richard "Rich" Canning '81

PhRichard J. "Rich" Canning '81 and his wife, Cecilia B. "Celia" are longtime supporters of the Boston College Athletic Department and dear friends of the University. Mr. Canning graduated from the Carroll School of Management and later earned his MBA from the University of Pennsylvania in 1987. Mr. and Mrs. Canning travel throughout the country to attend athletic events and also regularly host events in the Connecticut area. The couple endowed the Cecilia B. and Richard J. Canning '81 Athletics Scholarship Fund as a way to express their tremendous affinity for BC Athletics. In addition to their athletic scholarship fund, the Cannings have also contributed to the Athletics Facilities Enhancement Fund. Mr. Canning is a member of the Wall Street Council and also served as co-chair on his 30th Reunion Committee. The Canning's generosity expands into other areas of the Boston College community as well, having endowed the Cecilia B. and Richard J. Canning '81 Carroll School of Management Endowed Fund.

They reside in New Canaan, CT with their children Olivia, Michael, and Madeline.


Past Award Recipients include:

2001 Gregory P. Barber '69
2002 Alfred W. Branca '39
2003 Gerald B. Healy, M.D. '63
2004 John L. Harrington '57, MBA '66
2005 Timothy J. Connors, Jr. '76
2006 John V. Murphy '71
2007 Charles P. '66 and Elizabeth K. '67 Smith
2008 Thomas D. '52 and Regina K. McElroy
2009 David P. O'Connor '86
2010 Michaela "Mikey" (Murphy) Hoag.
2011 Philip W. "Phil" Schiller '82
2012 Rich Canning '81